Song of the Week: Video by India Arie

Life has been busy lately and song of the week had been momentarily forgotten, but no longer. I heard a song by India Arie, an artist whose music is all about self love, raising self-esteem, and finding beauty within ones self. This song  made me realize that you don’t have to look like girls or women on the cover of magazines, in movies, in music videos, in TV shows, or who are hailed as most beautiful. Your worth is not in your looks, whether or not you match some ideal, but its in your spirit, how you view yourself, and how comfortable you are in your skin. Just love what you see, when you look in the mirror.

“Video”

[Verse 1]
Sometimes I shave my legs and sometimes I don’t
Sometimes I comb my hair and sometimes I won’t
Depend of how the wind blows I might even paint my toes
It really just depends on whatever feels good in my soul

[Chorus]
I’m not the average girl from your video
And I ain’t built like a supermodel
But I learned to love myself unconditionally,
Because I am a queen

I not the average girl from your video
My worth is not determined by the price of my clothes
No matter what I’m wearing I will always be
India.Arie

Learn the rest here 
Leave a Reply

